A USDA Secretarial Disaster Declaration has been issued for seven Minnesota counties affected by excessive rain, flash flooding, and flooding that occurred from June 17 through July 3, 2018. USDA Secretary Sonny Perdue has declared Murray County a primary disaster area and the counties of Cottonwood, Lyon, Nobles, Pipestone, Redwood, and Rock have been named contiguous disaster counties.

The Secretarial disaster designation makes farm operators in these seven counties eligible for emergency loans from the federal Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met.

 “Governor Dayton and I saw firsthand the extensive flood damage to farms and fields in this area of the state,” said Minnesota Agriculture Commissioner Dave Frederickson. “I encourage farmers affected by this disaster to contact their local FSA office to determine their eligibility for financial assistance.”

 Minnesota farmers in the eligible counties have 8 months from the date of the Secretarial disaster declaration to apply for emergency loans. FSA considers each emergency loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of production losses on the farm and the security and repayment ability of the operator.